Tarte Shape Tape Contour Concealer Review

Happy Thursday! I hope you all are having an awesome day.

I have been putting the cult-favorite Tarte Shape Tape Contour Concealer to the test since I purchased it about a month ago. The concealer retails for $25 USD and contains 10ml/.034 fl oz of product. It comes in 14 different shades from fair to mahogany. According to the Tarte website, the concealer is “a vegan friendly, creamy concealer for radiant coverage and contouring”.

I purchased the shade light-medium (light to medium skin with pink undertones). I have a light-medium skin tone with yellow and olive undertones.

No flash or filter. Right image is a blended and regular swatch of the concealer when given time to dry.

IMG_4451

Product comes with a large doe-foot applicator

My Thoughts: This concealer is very full coverage and can be used for the under eye area or spots on the face. A little goes a long way with this product, only a small amount is needed to achieve full coverage. I find the best way to apply this concealer to the under eye area is spreading the concealer with a flat foundation brush and blending with a damp beauty sponge. A small concealer brush or your finger works perfectly for spot concealing with this product.

I feel like this concealer would be slightly too heavy to be used solely for highlighting. I think it would be best used for areas that you want to cover up. The shade I purchased was close to my skin color, so I’m not 100% sure how it would perform as a highlighter. Despite the high pigmentation, the concealer did not appear cakey. I do think it could get cakey if too much is applied. The consistency of this concealer is thick but creamy, and feels light on the skin. It has a matte-natural finish without being drying.

This concealer stays put!!! After wearing for eight hours, I experienced minimal creasing  and the product did not fade (I did set the concealer with translucent powder).

Overall, I think this is a great multipurpose concealer! I think the high coverage and ample amount of product per tube are worth the high price tag.

 

Left side before concealer ( no flash or filter, I apply my foundation before concealer)

FullSizeRender (10)FullSizeRender (11)

 

Both eyes before and after concealer (excuse my messy eyebrows! haha)

Things to keep in mind: The concealer has a sweet lemon scent. You may want to consider this if you are sensitive to smells. However, the scent does not linger on the skin. This concealer does oxidize! I noticed that the concealer dried about two shades darker. If you are between shades you may want to get a shade lighter. Although Tarte recently added new shades, the shade range is not the best. I feel that more shades that cater to darker skin tones should be added. A light-medium shade with yellow undertones would have been ideal for me!

Thank you so much for reading! I hope this is helpful to anyone debating trying this product. Let me know if there are any amazing concealers or new beauty products out there I need to try!

-XO Nat

4 thoughts on “Tarte Shape Tape Contour Concealer Review

Leave a Reply

